Nursery

I woke up early and started my chores.  I had two loads of laundry done and the bathroom cleaned before Jessica was even awake.  Why? I wanted to get back at the nursery.  Today’s project was moving the desk from the office (soon to be nursery) into our spare bedroom.  For that to occur, I had to de-clutter a large bookshelf.  I went through all our books and decided which to keep and which to donate. I enjoy the feeling you get when you get rid of things you don’t need.  Especially if you can sell them, donate them, or recycle them; i hate creating waste.  I’m the anti-hoarder.  If I find something that has been their for over a year and I didn’t even know if existed, it’s time to get rid of it.

In the end, the bookcase went to my in-laws, the dresser was move to the opposite side of the room, and the desk added.  The nursery has one less piece of furniture with the twin bed remaining.  Although Jessica think’s I’m slightly nuts for planning the nursery so soon, seeing space in the room got her juices flowing. Later yesterday afternoon, we were at Babies R Us looking at baby furniture.

I can’t believe how many different items you need for a baby.  A crib, a dresser, a changing table, a glider chair with matching ottoman, a pack and play, a swing, etc…….  My minimalist, economical spending habits make me think maybe I was too quick to get this nursery ready.  As fast as I clear the room out, Jessica will be spending money to fill it back up!

Leave a Reply

