Follow-Up

Yesterday we had our follow-up visit with the MFM doctors just to ensure everything was still looking good two weeks after the initial visit.

I’d like to say I feel confident everything is progressing smoothly.  They told us everything looks good/normal.  The Dr made a joke that he didn’t know what college they would graduate from, but everything looked right for a 9 weeks old fetus.  I’m sure he uses that joke 100 times a day…….

So why don’t I have total confidence you ask? The office is associated with a teaching hospital, so our ultrasound was done by a resident Dr with a much more experienced tech looking on.  They started the ultrasound through the abdomen, just as they had the first time, and stated they would follow that with a transvaginal scan.

The resident Dr. had the toughest time finding the fetus, she received a lot feedback from the senior tech.  I know everyone has to learn, and I am very patient with that fact, but when you are looking for solid answers on the healthiness of your child it is a little anxiety causing.

Because the fetus was so small they were having trouble getting clear pictures.  They kept saying things like, “Well I think this is the whole thing” and “I think I got the whole image”.  I was on pins and needles the whole time but anticipated much stronger images when they completed the transvaginal scan.

After they were satisfied with the results of the abdominal scan they left the room to consult with the attending physician.  The physician entered and stated everything looked normal and make his college comment.  They then handed us a print of the sonogram and said we were all set.  No having the transvaginal scan made me a little uneasy.  It would have been so much more clear and confirming of the all clear.  I should have said something, but when it come to medicine I usually let Jessica take the lead.  Since she is a nurse she understands this stuff more than I.  She didn’t say anything so I figured I should keep my mouth closed. I left the office wishing I said something.  I know the baby is only about the size of a jelly bean and isn’t a whole lot “human-looking” at this point, but the sonogram they gave us kind of looks like an octopus.  I know neither one of us has any octopus genes in our family.

I will need to trust that they saw enough to call it as normal for the time being.  They know what to look for and what is normal so I have to trust in them.  I still feel I need to be cautious like walking on egg shells.  Luckily we will follow up next week with Jessica’s primary OB and see what he has to say.

The MFM Dr brought up doing 1st trimester genetic testing for down syndrome.  We hadn’t really thought about it before.  Would we do anything different if we found out it had down syndrome? If no, was it worth testing? Are their any dangers to the test?  We have a lot to find out first, but I can’t imagine doing anything different if we found out they had down syndrome.  I guess there too I would need to do research, but it still seems to me we would play with the card dealt.  You can’t control everything and never will be able to.  All we have is love to give.  We of course hope for the healthiest of results, but any which way they will be loved.

If you have some personal feeling on this I would enjoy hearing from you.

Leave a Reply

