It’s a Monday

The Monday after somewhat of a “Spring Break” for me.  I spent the morning ensuring I addressed everything that needed to be address over the past week and sent some “Welcome Back” reminders to my customers.  It’s always tough to get back into the groove of grinding when the weather is so nice out. The fact that Jessica took the week off to spend time with her cousin from out of state just added to the fact I wasn’t fully ready to back into it.

To make matters worse I’ve haven’t felt the greatest the past few days.  I am thinking its allergies.  It’s not like a cold, but I have a feeling of fluid behind my ears and my eyes have been bothering me.  The fluid in the ear is setting off my equilibrium and is super annoying.  Constantly feeling like your underwater.

I really don’t like to complain.  No one really wants to hear you whine about how you don’t feel well so I try to proceed as normally as possible.  My issue is I have two competing characteristics.  I really don’t like taking medication, prescription or over-the-counter, but at the same respect I’m a hypochondriac (self-diagnosed). So of course when I feel off my game for a couple days in a row and it’s not the typical feeling of a cold I go into panic mode and start googling.  Maybe there was lead paint in the demo I just did and I have lead poisoning (even though I completed a home test that resulted in a negative reading, but nevertheless test can fail) or my lymph nodes are swollen in my neck because it could be a tumor (thanks Mayo Clinic).  Why I look online I will never know because I always read the worst and then have to convince myself it is just allergies and to relax.  There is nothing in pain, there is no major discomfort or cause for concern, so I’ll take it day by day to see how it changes.  No need for rash decisions.

I can’t believe I’m the only person that acts in this irrational manner knowing full well it is irrational and I have to believe there are people out there who can’t convince themselves to calm down and go full blown with their self-diagnosed rare illness.  Maybe some day I’ll mature and stop researching online.  If I’m that concerned I should probably stop playing doctor and visit a real one.

Leave a Reply

